Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Devil's bride
1998
Availability
Annotations

When Devil Cynster and Honoria Wetherby are caught in a comprising position, he offers her marriage, but the spirited Honoria is not about to conform to conventions and decides that solving a mystery and seeing the world is more to her liking, despite her passionate longing for Devil. Original. - (Baker & Taylor)

When Devil, the most infamous member of the Cynster family, is caught in a compromising position with plucky governess Honoria Wetherby, he astonishes the entire town by offering his hand in marriage. No one dreamed this scandalous rake would ever take a bride. And as society mamas swooned at the loss of England′s most eligible bachelor, Devil′s infamous Cynster cousins began to place wagers on the wedding date.

But Honoria wasn′t about to bend society′s demands and marry a man "just" because they′d been found together virtually unchaperoned. No, she craved adventure, and while solving the murder of a young Cynster cousin fit the bill for a while, she decided that once the crime was solved she′d go off to see the world. But the scalding heat of her unsated desire for Devil soon had Honoria craving a very different sort of excitement. Could her passion for Devil cause her to embrace the enchanting peril of a lifelong adventure of the heart?

- (HARPERCOLL)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Library Journal Reviews

Like Quinn, Laurens invented a Regency-era family and has been writing about its exploits for years. In this first book in the series, she introduces the Cynsters, headed by Devil, the Duke of St. Ives, and his would-be wife, Honoria Wetherby. When they first meet, as they care for a mortally wounded young man, the two bristle at each other‚ ôs demeanor. As the relationship develops, their tempers are tested and tried, especially as Honoria refuses to give ground. While Laurens differs from Quinn in that wit and repartee are not her focus, and her books are steamier than most of Quinn‚ ôs, through a shared focus on family, the importance of emotional connection, and the steps of courtship, the two authors have plenty of appeal elements in common. Advisors should note that there are a number of other Regency writers, and while all are not read-alikes for Quinn, fans of the genre might also be pointed to Mary Balogh, Loretta Chase, Carla Kelly, Barbara Metzger, Jo Beverley, Julie Garwood, Catherine Coulter, Lisa Kleypas, Julia London, Johanna Lindsey, Anne Gracie, Judith McNaught, Mary Jo Putney, Lauren Willig, Laura London, and Liz Carlyle. — "RA Crossrads" LJ Reviews 7/5/12 (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1